naughtygamers
NTHW Gaming Banner

Author Topic: Problem with network drive  (Read 166 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ramrod

  • [NTHW] Clan
  • *
  • Posts: 5,464
  • Full time again :(
Problem with network drive
« on: 06 August 2019, 09:48: PM »
I've got a WiFi networked Himedia Q10 Android box with a 1Tb HDD in it which is a third full of films and TV series all in the Media folder.
In the last day, when I try to transfer another TV episode over to it, windows reports: "there is not enough space on share. You need an additional 482MB to copy these files"
I've upgraded the Android box's software, rebooted everything. Still no joy.
Anyone have any ideas?  :(
Step by step, walk the thousand mile road...

Offline bopdude

  • [NTHW] Clan
  • *
  • Posts: 3,168
  • Too old for this shit
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #1 on: 07 August 2019, 07:50: AM »
If you can see the drive what does it say the free capacity is as opposed to the error message telling you what it is ?

Offline Ramrod

  • [NTHW] Clan
  • *
  • Posts: 5,464
  • Full time again :(
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #2 on: 07 August 2019, 11:22: AM »
share is showing as 945MB free
the folder containing the video files is showing as containing 299GB of data (it's a 1TB drive)
I can't find the free capacity reported anywhere.
Step by step, walk the thousand mile road...

Offline zingle

  • *
  • Posts: 1,863
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #3 on: 07 August 2019, 11:50: AM »
Likely formatted wrong. Maybe remove and look at in pc and see? does the box format to a proprietary filesystem?

Offline zingle

  • *
  • Posts: 1,863
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #4 on: 07 August 2019, 11:54: AM »
from a little googling apparently you can plug the device into pc via usb and it be seen as an external drive. From what I can see it is advised to format to GPT but at least by looking you can see what has happened and if the space needs extending

Offline Ramrod

  • [NTHW] Clan
  • *
  • Posts: 5,464
  • Full time again :(
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #5 on: 07 August 2019, 12:53: PM »
I'll have a look at doing that. Ta :)
Bastard thing worked fine for the last 2 years till 2 days ago!
Step by step, walk the thousand mile road...

Offline Ramrod

  • [NTHW] Clan
  • *
  • Posts: 5,464
  • Full time again :(
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #6 on: 07 August 2019, 02:11: PM »
from a little googling apparently you can plug the device into pc via usb and it be seen as an external drive. From what I can see it is advised to format to GPT but at least by looking you can see what has happened and if the space needs extending
I can't find my USB HDD hubs power cord  :'(
Step by step, walk the thousand mile road...

Offline Ramrod

  • [NTHW] Clan
  • *
  • Posts: 5,464
  • Full time again :(
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #7 on: 07 August 2019, 02:26: PM »
Plugged it into my mobo instead (something I'd never do unless I know where the drive has been and what it's been used for!)
Windows is reporting it's NTFS with 580GB used and 1.43TB free.
How do I extend the 'space'?

edit: I can copy what I want to the HDD now it's attached to my mobo....
« Last Edit: 07 August 2019, 02:35: PM by Ramrod »
Step by step, walk the thousand mile road...

Offline zingle

  • *
  • Posts: 1,863
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #8 on: 07 August 2019, 08:15: PM »
I read its best to set up as GPT but I dunno . The device is meant to see upto 6 but shoulder shrug

Offline Ramrod

  • [NTHW] Clan
  • *
  • Posts: 5,464
  • Full time again :(
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #9 on: 07 August 2019, 08:33: PM »
I had a look at the formatting options in the drop down and NTFS was all it offered
Plugged it back into the Android Box and am still getting the same problem  except that it's reporting that share is 19MB short of allowing the transfer. Weird
Step by step, walk the thousand mile road...

Offline zingle

  • *
  • Posts: 1,863
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #10 on: 10 August 2019, 02:07: PM »
I would back it up then reformat it to GPT using a partitioning tool such as easus partition manager

Offline zingle

  • *
  • Posts: 1,863

Offline zingle

  • *
  • Posts: 1,863
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #12 on: 10 August 2019, 02:11: PM »

Offline Ramrod

  • [NTHW] Clan
  • *
  • Posts: 5,464
  • Full time again :(
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #13 on: 10 August 2019, 05:42: PM »
Cheers for that info m8 :tu:
Step by step, walk the thousand mile road...

Offline Stormpr00ter

  • Space Cadet
  • [NTHW] Clan
  • *
  • Posts: 3,623
  • Mostly Harmless
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #14 on: 13 August 2019, 08:41: PM »
Plugged it into my mobo instead (something I'd never do unless I know where the drive has been and what it's been used for!)
Windows is reporting it's NTFS with 580GB used and 1.43TB free.
How do I extend the 'space'?

edit: I can copy what I want to the HDD now it's attached to my mobo....

Sorry for the late reply.
So you have a 1TB HDD, with 580GB used and 1.43TB free - that simply does not add up
Either it's a 2TB drive, or there is another problem

When the drive is plugged in to your mobo, have you had a look at Disk Management in Computer Management? What do the various partitions look like? Android is based on Linux so I would expect to see something like ext0, ext1 and other funky stuff.

Offline Ramrod

  • [NTHW] Clan
  • *
  • Posts: 5,464
  • Full time again :(
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #15 on: 13 August 2019, 09:05: PM »
I was talking bolox. On closer inspection I reaslised that it's a 3TB that I ntfs formatted to 1.5TB. I didn't bother redoing that as 1.5TB is fine for my purposes. As for the rest, I'll plug it back in to my PC and have a butchers. Ta m8 :)
Step by step, walk the thousand mile road...

Offline zingle

  • *
  • Posts: 1,863
Re: Problem with network drive
« Reply #16 on: Today at 12:25 AM »
I was talking bolox. On closer inspection I reaslised that it's a 3TB that I ntfs formatted to 1.5TB. I didn't bother redoing that as 1.5TB is fine for my purposes. As for the rest, I'll plug it back in to my PC and have a butchers. Ta m8 :)

you can just extend it no messing